Everything Else

Documenting my documentary viewing: Kumare

     I don’t actually know if anyone is even remotely interested in what I watch when I’m procrastinating, but the great thing is, the internet doesn’t require interest. (On a side note, there really is only so much time you can spend trying to learn kanji before it gets to be too much and you start dreaming of floating symbols – this has happened to me.)

     I’ve got a few of these to come, but I shall start with Kumare. I thought Kumare was an interesting documentary. I wasn’t sure if I’d like it at first but it’s quite well made and worth watching, in my opinion. I did give it a four star rating on Netflix anyhows.

     Wondering about the spiritual and guru movement, Vikram Gandhi decides to become a guru himself to see if he can trick people into thinking he’s real. He grows his hair and beard, puts on a fake Indian accent and tells people he’s called Kumare and that he comes from India but has come to America to spread his wisdom. He succeeds in making up his own philosophy, yoga moves and meaningless chants and gains a small following willing to believe that he’s the real deal. In the end, he reveals his identity as a filmmaker from New Jersey as he tries to help his followers realise that they don’t need mystic gurus for answers.

     Now, I tend to see all that spiritual stuff as being a load of rubbish. Yoga’s good for gentle stretching and it’s for balancing your body, not your chakras, or whatever people are saying about it these days. Nevertheless, I liked this documentary. It may not be for everyone, but I found it to be an interesting look at the guru phenomenon and why people are so desperate for one person to have all the answers. It’s rather inspirational in a way.

     Well, guess I’ve said enough about the film. If you’re interested, you’ll see it, if you’re not, you’ll just ignore everything in this blog post (though I think that’s what most people do whenever I write or say anything). If you do watch it though, I’d be interested in hearing your opinion on the film or the topic it covers in general so don’t be afraid to leave a comment! I don’t bite others, just my own tongue and lips.

     Okay, really. That’s all I have to say so here’s a second attempt at finishing this post,

     Ramblings over,

     Emma

Share Your Thoughts

