All The Other Crafts · Crafts

Chalk/pin board craft

Photo - Chalk Pin Board

     Okay, so I’m fairly proud of this craft of mine which I am chalking up as a success. Get it? Chalking up…and it’s a chalk board? Okay, no more of those jokes but I am actually fairly happy with the outcome of this. The finish could use some improvements but it does what I planned it to do. It is both a pin board and a chalk board. I didn’t know how it would work out so I didn’t take any pictures of the making of, unfortunately, but I can tell you how I made it.

     What you need for this is:

  • two A4 foam core boards
  • cork board
  • chalkboard paint
  • glue
  • a craft knife
  • some washi tape
  • chalk and pins to finish

     To start, paint one piece of foam core board with the chalk board paint, whatever colour chalkboard paint you want, and let it dry. Next, figure out what shape you want your cork board section to be. Try to go for something simple because you have to cut the second foam core piece into this shape. Originally, I planned to have the cork board section in the shape of the continents with the chalk board as the sea but that was too complicated a shape for cutting into the foam core, especially at this size. While trying to cut out Africa, I lost Madagascar and Ireland was too small to even try cut out. Needless to say, that idea was scrapped and I went with a simple cloud instead.

     So, having decided what you want, draw it on to the foam board and use your craft knife to cut it out. When you have your shape, cover it in cork board and cut the cork to shape. I used a thin cork board with a sticky backing that came in a roll. The sticky backing made it easy to stick to the foam board and it being thin made it easy to cut to shape as well.

     At this stage, I decided to use some washi tape to cover up the exposed edges of the foam, as you can see below. Just tape the edges and use some glue to help keep the tape in place (washi tape not being the stickiest). When your chalk paint is dry, you can stick the two foam pieces together and you’re done!

     It’s a simple enough craft but its unique. I think at least. Let me know what you think of it.

One thought on “Chalk/pin board craft

Share Your Thoughts

