All The Other Crafts · Crafts

Wood Disk Coasters

Photo - Wooden Coasters II

     A quick and simple craft today – coasters.

     During one of my various craft hauls, there’s been quite a few so I can’t even remember how long ago I bought these, I picked up a box of wooden disks. The box cost me about €5 and I probably could have just asked my dad to go pick a stick out of the bin in the back garden and cut that to get the same result…I have actually done that when I bought a bag of these disks to make something for my mom but ran out half way through the project…but they’re not as even when he cuts them and you know, sometimes it’s just easier to buy things.

     Anyway, so I had these wood disks bought and then the idea of making a set of coasters came to mind. I did get four coasters out of the box so a set of coasters for €5 doesn’t seem too bad. All I did was glue the disks together, overlapping them (each coaster is two disks thick). Oh, I did add a thin layer of varnish to them when I finished, but that’s it. They’re quite sturdy too, lots of glue will do that. Of course, now that I have these made I’m not sure what to do with them. I don’t even use coasters at home…I probably should start because I do make them a lot…

     Right, my goal for the next week is to use a coaster whenever I have a cup of tea. I’ll keep you updated on how that goes.

Share Your Thoughts

