Everything Else

Happy Halloween!

Photo - Halloween Owl Pumpkin Carving

     Happy Halloween everyone! I usually don’t do much for halloween, other than sit in the back room of the house so I don’t have to answer the door to trick-or-treaters while I try to stop my cats from going outside, but this year I really wanted to carve a pumpkin! This is the first time I’ve really carved a pumpkin. The last time we carved pumpkins in our house I was probably too young to be trusted with carving utensils. I had fun carving this though.

     It was a team effort of sorts. My mom cut the top and took out the guts, which she used to make pumpkin soup. She also roasted the seeds and salted them – delicious! I did all the carving. I found an owl one that looked simple enough when I was browsing pinterest for ideas, sketched it on the pumpkin and set myself up for the task of carving it out. Luckily our neighbours had just finished carving their pumpkin and their son (he’s four years old) was insistent on lending the tools to us – I hadn’t really thought about how to actually carve the pumpkin!

     But I think it turned out a success! And look, a cute somewhat sinister looking owl!

Share Your Thoughts

