Crafts · Sewing

Learning to Sew

Photo - Sewing Machine     So, I’m trying to learn how to sew.

     Last month I got a really cheap mini sewing machine – didn’t want to be spending too much on a fancy machine seeing as I’ve never sewn before and thought it best to test the waters first, plus, it only cost €20 in Aldi.

     I’ve been messing around with it a bit and I am enjoying using it (although I’m restricted to only using it at certain times because my dog isn’t very fond of the noise it makes and keeps glaring at me when I press my foot down on the pedal). 

Photo - Learning to Sew (1)

    Obviously my first attempt at sewing was just messing around on a scrap of cloth. Then I moved onto trying to sew straight lines – I figure straight lines are important in sewing for being neat. Following this I discovered that I am awful at sewing straight lines. Some practice is needed there…possibly a lot. I should probably find some tutorials to watch to figure out what the hell I’m doing.

3 thoughts on “Learning to Sew

  1. To get the lines straight it helps to use the little thing the needle sits in for orientation (I don’t know the english word for it, but basically the thing under which you lead your fabric along), if you try to align the side of your fabric parallel to it it usually helps to keep the line straight. At least thats what I do 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I will definitely try to remember that for next time! I really want to start sewing useful things but I fear my incredibly wonky lines are holding me back 😀

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

