Everything Else · Planners

Planning Life #25 – New Year Hopes

Photo - Planning Life 25

     Hey guys! It’s my first post of 2016 so it seems appropriate to talk about New Year’s resolutions but before we get to that, let’s talk about planners. A new year doesn’t always mean changes – I think it’s safe to say that my eclectic, hap-hazardous planner look is here to stay for the foreseeable future. I swear, I started off with the stripes of washi tape down the sides and it looked so neat and pretty…of course a planner isn’t much of a planner without plans in it and it always gets messy at that stage.

     The end of one year and start of another year is always a hectic period where ideas pop into your head and there’s a rush to get things organised and put into practice. I’m still in that mode a bit but things are starting to piece together slowly. Admittedly, the Steam winter sale hasn’t helped my organisation as I recently treated myself to Elder Scrolls Online and have already had a few 8 hour sessions of gaming which obviously takes up a lot of the day.

Photo - New Years Resolutions (2)

Photo - New Years Resolutions (1)     But I have my goals for 2016 made so that’s a good start for the year! They’re not the most original of goals but they’re hopefully ones I can actually achieve!

  1. Read at least 20 books.
  2. Read Harry Potter in Japanese.
  3. Complete the Dutch course on Duolingo.
  4. Lose at least 20 lbs (9kg).
  5. Knit a jumper.
  6. Learn how to make books.
  7. Learn how to crochet.

     I have really been slacking with my reading recently so my aim is to get at least 20 books read over the course of the year. I had planned on making it at least 26 (a book every two weeks – a reasonable number) but I lowered it when I realised that some of the books I want to read are fairly long (I’m planning on re-reading The Lord of the Rings for the 6th or 7th time). I did think of planning all the books I was going to read but I decided not too. No sense in tying myself down to an exact list.

     I don’t want to forget about languages either which is becoming increasingly easy to do now that I’m not at university. It’ll be slow going as my Japanese is awful, but I hope with the help of Google Translate and Jisho.org I can make it through Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in Japanese before the year ends.

     As for my crafts, well, I’ve decided that in 2016 I’m going to learn how to crochet and learn the art of handmaking books (something I’ve been planning on as I bought a book on this several months ago). I’m also hoping to up my game with my knitting. All I’ve done so far is knit scarves and the occasional hat. I usually get bored half way through knitting something so I stick to simple, quick to do stuff. I’m hoping this year though I’ll build up the courage…and skill to knit a jumper, just so I can say that I can knit jumpers!

     And don’t think I’ve forgotten about blogging. I plan on maintaining a 2-3 post a week schedule for 2016 with each day for specific topics (Mondays = planner, Thursdays = knitting etc.). I even got myself another planner just for my blog so that I can brainstorm and plan posts properly.

    It might not be as nicely decorated on the inside as my to-do list planner pages but there’s only so much time a girl has to decorate!

     I was playing Elder Scrolls Online very busy on New Year’s Eve and Day so my thanks are a few days late in coming but I do really want to thank everyone who’s taken the time out to read my ramblings. You guys made 2015 a great year for my blog and it’s because of the wonderful blogging community that I keep this going so really, thank you! Virtual cookies and hugs for everyone!

     So, do you have any hopes or plans for the coming year?

3 thoughts on “Planning Life #25 – New Year Hopes

  1. Omg you don’t know how to crochet. I love it so much more than knitting, to me crocheting is much easier. I can’t wait for you to learn and see which one you like better.

    Also love your blog glad to be a reader and can’t wait to see what you have in store for this year.

    P.S. I did get your last pen pal email I will hopefully reply today u just have so much social media to check daily sometimes I forget a few things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know why it’s taken me so long but I finally have a set of crochet hooks so I hopefully I can get started soon 🙂
      And don’t worry, considering it can take me up to 3 months to reply to emails, there’s no rush 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

