Crafts · Sewing

Sewing a Scarf

 Photo - Sewing Machine    Hey, so remember back in November I had a blog post about the sewing machine that I had gotten back in October? I was just messing around with it at that stage and was having trouble with straight lines. Well, I can report now that I have gotten somewhat better at straight lines and have also forced myself to move on from just messing around to actually making something. Nothing complicated, I am just learning on a mini machine after all, but I’ve been learning how to make infinity scarves – turns out they’re so, so simple to make…once you get the straight lines thing down.

Photo - Infinity Scarf Material     I found this really pretty Eiffel Tower themed fabric on Etsy and I thought it would make a really nice scarf for my twin, so I bought it. Of course, I bought it before I knew how to sew and I decided I was going to make her this scarf for Christmas so that really meant I had learn how to make the scarf. I bought 1.5 metres of it which I cut in half so I could make two scarves. Well, so I could basically use the first one as a practice run. The second one turned out much better, learning curve and all that.

Photo - Infinity Scarf     For a second attempt, it turned out fairly okay and I felt comfortable enough giving it to my sister. I’d like it to have been a little bit more loose when you wrap it around the second time. I might need to just buy a longer piece of fabric next time, but I made sure it was nice and wide as my twin does like her wide scarves. Hopefully after a few more of these I might get good enough to be able to sell them on Etsy! There’s just so much pretty fabric out there that I really do want to make more of these.

2 thoughts on “Sewing a Scarf

  1. I might have to get a sewing machine like this. I only do small sewing jobs as this would be perfect and easy to store in my limited craft storage area. Love the scarf by the way, the print is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a very handy machine. I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a bigger more functional one but I really like how easy the mini machine is to tuck away when I’m working on other crafts.

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

