Planners

Falling Out of Love (with my planner)

Photo - Falling out of love with my planner

     I’ve been feeling this way for a few weeks now but I guess I was in a bit of denial and didn’t want to think about it too much. It’s time to admit it though and be honest – I think I’m falling out of love with my little Paperchase pocket planner.

Photo - Pocket Planner Set-Up (2)     Well, I’m not falling out of love with the whole planner. I still love my set up for it (which I wrote about back in November). I love the adorable owls on the front and I love how easy the small size makes it to hold. The purple (my favourite colour) on the inside with the pockets is another pro about it. However, while I love all the features, I’ve found I’m having a hard time using it lately.

     It started out okay but lately my to-do lists are getting crowded with lots of small things which the pocket size is having a hard time dealing with. The pages being so small that I feel somewhat restricted in how I’m decorating the planner. My standard size washi tapes are a bit too wide to use sometimes so I tend to stick to the plain thin ones so I have enough space to make cluttered lists. Sometimes plain works but sometimes it’s a bit boring using the same few tapes over again.

     The obvious solution would be to switch from a week on two page view to a day-per-page view but I really like having my whole week on two pages so I can see everything at once and also, decorating a day per page is just hard work! As much as I love my little planner, if I don’t like using it for the most important feature of to-do lists, I think I need a new one.

3     This leads me to the idea that I should go back to a personal size planner or even an A5 size planner. I can’t go back to my old personal size filofax though because I gave that one to my older sister (see my post Re-homing a Filofax for that), so I’ll have to buy a new planner. I’ve been flirting with the Plum Paper Planner, letting it sit in my Etsy basket for a while. I really like the idea of a vertical layout because it would suit to-do lists better. The only problem is the Plum Paper Planner is super expensive once you have to get it shipped to Ireland! That planner could easily cost me up to €70 (€20 of which is shipping) if I were to deck it out with the extra months and features I’d like and I just don’t have that kind of money.

     So basically, I’m still looking around for cheaper alternatives and different layouts I could try. I’m hoping I find something soon though. If anyone has any suggestions for planners I should check out, do let me know!

9 thoughts on “Falling Out of Love (with my planner)

  1. Your planner is so cute! I wish we had Paperchase here in the states. When I worked at Borders, I would buy so many things from our little Paperchase section. I used to use a personal sized planner but it was too small for all the things I wanted to keep track of and switched to an A5. Much happier with it but it’s gotten so big! I did see a cute A5 planner on the Paperchase site that was on sale not too long ago. I was going to purchase it but, as you know, shipping from the UK to the states is so expensive.

    I saw a Youtube video where a lady had a week on one page and then daily pages on the other side. I wonder if that would work for you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankfully I don’t have a Paperchase store anywhere near me – I got my planner last year when I was in Bath and stumbled on the store. I’d be spending a fortune if I had a shop to visit regularly…although I just found their online shop and the delivery is pretty reasonable so I might still manage to spend all my money 😀
      I’ll have to check their planner section on the site then! I think an A5 planner might be what I need.I might try out that layout too, a week on one page and a day on the other side – never thought about doing it that way before so thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

      Like

  2. Do you know how to design things? As in, you could mock up a Plum Paper-esque layout for personal use to see if you like it before taking the dive in.

    Personally, I love the look of adorable little planners, but they’re not functional for me. I ended up with an A5 size.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s perfect for me, but you really have to try out things to see what’s right for you. You could get an A5 notebook and carry it around for a while. It might not be as fun or cute, but you can get an idea for whether the size works for you.

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

