Everything Else

My Not So Crafty Side #2

     Been a while since my last ‘Not So Crafty Side’ post. I meant to do these every two months but then the last one coincided with my dog dying so that ended up being the topic of the day instead. But I’m sure you’re all dying to know what I’ve been up to other than decorating planners and envelopes, because I do occasionally do other things.

     What are those things? Well, reading, studying and gaming.

     I live an exciting life.

     Since I finished with university last year I’ve been worried I’m going to forget how to study – a bad thing because I need to know how to study! Luckily, there’s a lot of free online courses out there that I can do to help keep my brain active. The main site I’ve been using is futurelearn.com. It’s got quite a few interesting courses on it, including one called Antiquities Trafficking and Art Crime which I really enjoyed – in fact, having completed that course, I actually started looking at master’s degrees in the heritage area which brings me to some exciting news – I’ve started applying to master’s degrees and….I was accepted into a master’s degree programme!

     I’m not sure if I ever mentioned it here but originally I was meant to be going to The Netherlands to do an MA in Media Studies – I was accepted to it last year and had to defer because I was hoping that in that year the Erasmus+ Master’s loan scheme would be set up and I could get a loan to afford moving. Unfortunately that was not to be the case. Now, I have a new plan!

     I will be doing a part-time and online master’s degree. The online part means I don’t have to worry about moving anywhere so the degree is affordable and evening if I do move somewhere, it doesn’t matter as I can still do the course. The part-time means it will take me three years to get my degree but I can study while working…well, once I find a job that is. Oh yes, what is the degree? you ask. It’s a MSc in World Heritage Conservation. That’s right, the English lit. student is now gonna get a Master of Science!

     I’m pretty excited about having some to work towards again and also, I’m just happy I got accepted because I hate writing personal statements so much and now I don’t have to write them anymore (for a while)! I’m really bad at talking about myself in a positive light and selling my skills. So bad at it, so applications for college and jobs really aren’t my thing!

     Anyway, enough of that good news. What else have I been doing. Well, over the past few months I’ve also been doing some gaming…namely playing Final Fantasy X and making the big mistake of playing Final Fantasy X-2 just because the games were bundled together…I think X is my favourite Final Fantasy game (followed very closely by XII as that’s the first one I played). I’ve finished X around 4 times now. On the other hand, I’d never finished X-2 before this time. I’d tried playing it twice before and never gotten more than an hour into it and for good reasons – it’s a bad games and Square Enix should really never make a sequel. Still, once started this time I was determined to finish it once and I did…even if I did resort to the cheats in-game about half way through just so I could finish it quicker and be done with it.

Dark Waters (The Expedition, #1)The Seed Buried Deep (The Expedition, #2)The Liminal PeopleWalking The HimalayasThe Long Hitch Home: Tasmania to London on a Thumb and a Prayer

     To Kathmandu in an Auto-rickshaw. A small tale about a big journey.What else…well, there’s been a bit of reading going on. Books I’ve read in the past few months include:  Dark Waters and The Seed Buried Deep by Jason Lewis, The Liminal People by Ayize Jama-Everett, Walking the Himalayas by Levison Wood, The Long Hitch Home by Jamie Maslin and To Kathmandu in an Auto-rickshaw by Mark Hawkins.

     Spot the odd book out. Five of the six are travel books so yes, I’m still very much enjoying travel stories. My thoughts in brief on the books –  I really liked the first two books, The Expedition series, which account Jason Lewis’ circumnavigation of globe using just man power. There’s a third one out which I haven’t read yet. It wasn’t available as an ebook at the time I finished the second, otherwise I would have gone straight to it! I loved Levison Wood’s first book, Walking the Nile, so I figured I would also like Walking the Himalayas and I did, although I found the first more interesting. The Long Hitch Home was enjoyable, featuring the author hitchhiking from Australia to the UK, although there’s practically no time spend on the final part through Europe which makes for a disappointing ending considering the details and history he goes into for all the other countries. To Kathmandu is just an easy read of the adventure two average middle-aged guys got into when they entered a rickshaw race in India, short but sweet. The Liminal People is the only book I’ve read recently that I didn’t like. It came in book bundle I got on Humble Bundle so I thought I’d give it a shot but it’s just not my style of fantasy at all. Also, at the end it has a preview for the second book in the series and it just gets really weird so I definitely won’t be reading more. Despite being a short book it took me a while to read.

     So, there’s my thoughts on what I’ve been reading, gaming and studying recently. I can’t think of anything else I’ve been doing. I don’t have a very eventful life so interesting things are few and far between! Still, maybe some of you have enjoyed this post and it’s given you an idea of what goes on in the life of an unemployed craft blogger!

     Oh, actually, before I leave you I just thought I’d mention again my first YouTube video that I have up and mention that if you want me to make some more videos of stuff, you should subscribe to my channel to let me know that there’s an interest out there! I have the next video made so I’ll try post that soon but definitely subscribe to my YouTube channel because it could be up there for a while before I get round to mentioning it here on the blog (the first one was up for a few days before I had room in my blog schedule to mention it!

     Okay, so that’s really all. I’m off now!

11 thoughts on “My Not So Crafty Side #2

    1. Always gotta have a soft spot for the first FF game you play, don’t you’?
      I wish I could be excited for the new games but that just doesn’t seem to have happened. I don’t have the platform to play the one coming out this year, XIV was online so I haven’t played that. I liked XIII but it didn’t hit the emotional chords like the some others did (sequels are not worth mentioning!). There’s just something about those older games!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations on the Master’s acceptance! That’s very cool that you’re able to do it online and part time. I do all of my schooling online whenever possible, because of my full-time work schedule. I highly recommend it. Just make sure you schedule time to log in and work! The flexibility of online schooling can lead to forgetfulness. But, since you’ve been doing other online classes in your spare time (good for you by the way!) I really doubt you’ll have any sort of problem with that. Good luck!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! Ya, the flexibility of online courses has it’s good and bad points. It’s great being able to do it whenever but when you don’t have a class you have to get up and go to, it’s easy to put it off! Good thing I have my planner thought, I’ll make sure to schedule in my course time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, congrats on your master’s acceptance! 😀 ❤ That is so exciting! Learning about art crime can be addictive, right?? I remember taking my first art market class as part of my degree in college, and briefly considering going on to Christie's or Sotheby's instead of working in a museum. It's fascinating to study!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I’m so excited about it – I feel weird if I don’t have anything to study for but now I do!
      And yes, the art and antiquities market is fascinating. Thank you online course for steering me in the heritage direction! When I finished that short online course, I immediately started adding books to my wishlist on Amazon and I’m currently reading one called ‘Stealing History – Tomb Raiders, Smugglers and the Looting of the Ancient World’.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Oooh, that book sounds awesome! One of my favorite books in the genre is “Stealing the Mystic Lamb: The True Story of the World’s Most Coveted Masterpiece”–all about the many misadventures of the Ghent Altarpiece–I’m not surprised by how many of these books begin their titles with ‘stealing’ 😀

      Liked by 2 people

    3. Well I guess I have another book to add to my wishlist! xD
      ‘stealing’ does make for a good title though! People tend to think of drugs and stuff when they imagine international crime but art and antiquities smuggling is where it’s all at, it’s got the mafia…diplomatic smugglers…all the things tv crime dramas have 😀

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

