Snail Mail

August 2016 – Incoming Snail Mail

     I know several of my pen pals are also blog readers so let me just say thank you for making August a lovely snail mail month! I had a lot of great mail coming in so let’s just get straight in to taking a look at some of it.

Photo - August 2016 - Incoming -  Stamps (2)
To start with, I had to make another stamp order to prepare me for the next few months and as I buy my stamps online, I did have those coming in the post. The new stamp price is annoying to make up with smaller stamps so I’ve gone for lots of 50c, 55c and 60c stamps. Although there is a new Wild Atlantic Way stamp set out which is quite nice. The colours are much more my style so I think I’ll be using them a fair bit. They go quite well with some calendars I have to make envelopes out of.

Photo - August 2016 - Incoming -  Stamps (3)

Photo - August 2016 - Incoming - Irish Stamps     Speaking of the Wild Atlantic Way ones, here’s the national version from the stamp set, featured on a letter I got from Jayne from jayniemack.wordpress.com.

     I also got another lovely letter from Jayne in August with a Beauty and the Beast envelope! I think she makes her envelopes from children’s book pages which she buys for cheap in euro type stores. It’s a fantastic idea because children’s books often have really cute art. I might have to go look for some myself to make envelopes.

Photo - August 2016 - Incoming -  From Jayne

Photo - August 2016 - Incoming -  From Keely (1)     I got another lovely letter from Keely over at mailboxmermaid.com and this months one had a fantastic foxes and far away places theme and by far away places I mean quite far away, out of this world, you might say! As a mild astronomy nerd, I am very fond of these planet stamps, especially the colour of oft forgotten about Neptune! Venus and Mars might not be the most hospitable of planets but they certainly look nice alongside the foxes!

Photo - August 2016 - Incoming -  Stamps (5)

     I knew what zines were but never read one before last month. I was delighted though in August to be able to get my first ever zine sent to me from Nyx over at seagreenzines.com. It came in a lovely decorated envelope and I sat down to read it as soon as I could. I must say, I loved it and I’m looking forward to getting my hands on more zines when I can (although it won’t be this month because I’m really trying to make September a no spend month for books and craft supplies!).Photo - August 2016 - Incoming - My First Zine

     From Tammy, a pen pal over in America, I got a fantastic airmail themed letter and also a lovely selection of washi tape samples. I love the washi tapes she sent me! We don’t get these kind of word washi tapes over here and I have fun using them in my journal so it’s nice to get them.Photo - August 2016 - Incoming - Tammy

     And finally, just as the month was ending, I awoke to find this beautiful piece of mail art:

Photo - August 2016 - Incoming - Namastechick (1)

Photo - August 2016 - Incoming - Namastechick (2)     It came from Prem over at namastechick.wordpress.com. I absolutely love her style of mail art – it’s definitely making me want to up my game! She also filled the envelope which so many wonderful things, just a few of them photographed here. I adore the vintage and airmail themed washi tapes! I’m really looking forward to using them in my journal at some point!

     Well, hope you enjoyed seeing some of my incoming mail! Thank you again to all my wonderful pen pals! That’s not all the mail I got in August, I got quite a bit, but I can’t feature it all or else this would be one epicly long post. If I didn’t feature your mail here, it’s not because it wasn’t pretty, I just had to limit myself!

8 thoughts on “August 2016 – Incoming Snail Mail

    1. I guess one roll of ‘word’ washi tape can do a lot of people – use a bit yourself and then share the rest with pen pals so you’re not left wondering what to do with an entire roll of the word ‘amazing’!

      Like

  1. It’s interesting to hear that you can’t find “word” washi tapes locally, since they are pretty much ALL you can find in the States right now! I have a complicated relationship with them: some are really pretty, but there’s a limit to how many times I want to include BELIEEEVE written over and over again on my letters! I love the kind of watercolor/gradient design on the ones you received, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True – maybe my enjoyment of them is that I get them in small amounts and don’t have to worry about what to do with an entire roll! The only ‘word’ washi tapes I can find on occasion here are merry christmas ones so not exactly your every day use tape! xD

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

