Craft Tools · Crafts

Cameras and Photo Set Ups

     Over the past few weeks I’ve taken the time to look at my workspaces, both my craft room and my desk so continuing in that line a bit, I thought today I’d show you my equipment – my cameras basically, and also, give you an insight into the various backdrops you see in my blog photos.

     So, I’ll start with my camera. My main camera of use is my Sony bridge camera that I got for Christmas two years back. It’s a fantastic little camera and I don’t know what I’d do without it! Most of the time I am lazy and because I’m taking really quick shots of things, I keep it on auto mode which is pretty good. Rarely for my blog photos would I need to mess with the settings myself. I also like that it can also record video which has started to come in handy more and more.

photo-olympus-e-600-camera-1     I have another camera too, a far older Olympus E-600 camera that I’ve had for around 7 years now. It doesn’t get nearly as much use now since I got the Sony but I still love my Olympus because while it may not be able to record video, there’s things it can do that the Sony can’t. If I want to shoot in RAW for extra editing power, I use my Olympus or if I want to take macro shots of flowers – the Olympus camera with my favourite macro lens does the perfect job and if I’m going somewhere with the specific purpose of taking nice photos, I’ll take the Olympus with a selection of different lenses. In essence, it’s my art camera while the Sony is my life camera.

     I know a lot of people use phone cameras that take fantastic quality photos these days, but I’ve never been into that. Ignoring the fact that I have an old phone with an awful camera, I just like holding the bulkier bridge camera in my hand, even if a phone camera might do the same job.

     Well, I guess with the cameras out of the way, it’s time to move onto the locations.

     For a while, I had a specific light box that I used for small items. By light box, I mean cardboard box painted white. It actually worked pretty well! Until I put it up on top of my shelf and it became home to random items.

photo-old-white-box

     I didn’t have any place to easily store it where it didn’t seem to gather piles of stuff so it fell out of use.

     Following the light box, I moved back to just taking photos on my desk. Eventually though, I got around to clearing the top of my chest of drawers from junk so that I could have a clear space for photos. I’ve got a roughly south-facing window in my bedroom so the light is good, although I have to get the timing of photos right so the shadows aren’t crazy. The best result for photos aren’t actually really sunny, clear sky days but bright, cloudy days. That might not sound right to some people, bright cloud days, but trust me, they’re a thing! Another common surface where you’ll see me taking quick shots, usually of my mail, is just the table in my sitting room. Or sometimes the floor – wooden floors make perfectly good backgrounds!

     When I was taking photos for Etsy products, I needed to have a good, clean back drop for my photos so in this case, I had to set something back up again. I decided to go for something really high-tech – some large sheets of white paper held onto a folded up clothes horse with some pegs. Yup, high-tech! It worked though. Positioned in a spot that was bright but didn’t get crazy shadows, I’d be able to get some good shots. A cheap but effective solution!
photo-my-photo-set-up-fir-etsy

     Floors and paper are great, but sometimes you just want a really nice back drop to make your crafts look nicer. I was inspired to set up a nice photo spot for my crafts by this lovely wine box that my twin got from her place of work. I do love it. Dressing it up was really simple. I got several sheets of simple but nice paper from my stock pile to cover the top of a chest of drawers, bought some cheap fake flowers, rested a few around the place and put the rest in a glass that a drink had come in. Just to hide the bottom of the stems, put some small pebbles into it. A few journal cards on the inside that you can’t really see but just help to add a little something to the view, and two die cut images that matched the colour scheme and I was done! It’s nice to look at in its own right and also a good backdrop for photos – a win-win!

photo-photp-setup-1

     And to prove that you can get a nice set up anywhere, here’s the zoomed out photo so you can see that there’s just junk piled to one side of the photo. All you need is a small flat area to make pretty, not an entire room! (because trust me, the room this set up is in isn’t pretty – it’s full of bikes, exercise machines, a computer and miles of wires…the junk room basically!

photo-photp-setup-2

     So there you have it, my cameras and locations!

     What kind of camera do you use? Got any good tips and tricks for better blog photos?

21 thoughts on “Cameras and Photo Set Ups

  1. Great tips in here which as a complete ‘novice’ when it comes to photo’s I find really helpful. A lovely honest post too – it’s easy to be put off when you see fabulous photo’s thinking that the ‘whole house’ must be perfect (mine certainly isn’t.. haha)! I recently invested in the Canon G7X mkii but sadly it was stolen before it got much use and I’m waiting to replace it (soon I hope)..
    Good to meet you! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked the post! Sorry to hear about your camera being stolen, I hope you can replace it soon:)
      It can be hard photographing stuff (and I am so very far from being an expert at it!). If you make something nice, you want the photos to do it justice and it’s easy to think you need a complicated set up for it or a room that looks like it belongs on the pages of a magazine, but really, one clean corner that gets enough light is all you need!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Good lighting is certainly rare in these parts in the summer, let alone the winter! I imagine for the next few months I’ll be dropping whatever I’m doing when I notice some nice light just so I can go take some photos! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic post, thank you for all the great ideas,photography is not my best subject, but with these ideas to fall back on perhaps I will improve. I also think a new camera might be on my Christmas wishlist this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad my post could be of help! Trying to take good photos can be hard. I think the best advice I could give for taking good photos of your crafts though is not to do with cameras but rather, buy some large sheets of white paper – they do fantastic things! xD

      Like

  3. Ooooh, good post. Love to see how people take their pictures! Especially now with the gloomier weather. I always prefer natural light if possible, but it won’t be an option soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Natural light is the best, although now with the shorter days I’m going to have to start planning to take photos at certain times seeing as there won’t be much of light (not that Ireland has ever boasted having good light in the summer so it might not be that much of a change :D)

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I am having the same concerns. I much prefer natural light. I snaffled a massively bright decorator’s lamp recently, thinking it would help, but I tried it the other day and it was not good – very yellow. Might just be a positioning issue. I think Irish light is better than South London for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

    3. I don’t know how some people get such good photos using lamp light because any time I use artificial lighting it’s also too yellow. I think to get really good lighting for photos from lamps, you tend to have to buy expensive ones and then buy expensive bulbs for it. I shall just have to keep relying on the sun!
      I don’t know about that, Limerick is a surprisingly dull place to live (in regards to both entertainment and the quality of the lighting xD)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love all your set up ideas and tips because lets be honest I can’t figure out the whole ‘having good lighting thing’ (although that might also be because a lot of my photos are spontaneous and of the ‘oh need to take a photo of that before it is gone’ kind). Mostly I use my Canon 350D, recently though I’ve been playing around with my sisters canon 5D Mark II which she kindly lets me use. And yes a lot of my mail photos end up being taken with my phone due to the above mentioned issue I seem to have 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a lot of those spontaneous photos also! (although I’m guessing mine have significantly fewer whales in them :D)
      So many times I’ve finished making something late at night when it’s dark and had to take photos in awful lighting because I have to give the thing to someone else the next day. Not every photo can be perfect but at least photoshop can help! xD

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved this post! The white paper back drop is such a great idea. I usually use my phone camera but, I’ve finally dug out my Lumix camera. I realllly want to use it as it feels so much nicer taking photos on a camera but, I am struggling with all of the options and different buttons! X

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

