Shopping

Shopping Trip to Belfast (and IKEA)

     Hey everyone, how’s it going? Getting into the holiday spirit yet?

     Looking back over my blog, I’ve noticed that it’s been a while since I last did a haul post so that’s what today’s topic will be about because at the start of this week I was actually up in Belfast to do some shopping and visit the Christmas market up there! I actually spent four months living up in Belfast a few years ago for my study abroad semester (I know, travelled far for that I did!), so it was great to get back up there because I really enjoyed my time up there.

     But onto the shopping now!

     I was travelling up with my parents so that meant my dad drove up. We left pretty early on Monday morning, about 8-ish and got into Belfast at about 1pm, leaving a few hours to browse the shops before checking into the hotel. Quite a few pieces I bought during this time were presents so you might have to wait till after Christmas to see those things but I did happen to stumble across a Paperchase store while I was shopping and it being only my second time actually being in a physical Paperchase store (there aren’t any here in Ireland so I buy from the online store), I of course did have to go in and pick something up for myself. I was very reasonable though!

photo-belfast-shopping-paperchase

     See, I only bought two things. Isn’t that washi tape set lovely? I think it will look great dressing up some snail mail in the new year. Plus, it was 30% off so I had to get it! And I have been looking for a Christmas stamp for the inside of cards so this will be handy when I’m putting my Christmas mail together over the next few days.

     After popping into a few more stores, it was time to check in and when it got dark (which is pretty early these days), it was time to visit the market!

photo-belfast-christmas-market

     I absolutely love the Belfast Christmas market. It’s great that it’s right in the city centre and set up there for about a month. We don’t have an equivalent here in Limerick, just the usual Saturday market. I would say that the Belfast market is about 60% food places and 40% shops so most of my purchases were food related but damn, it was good food!

     We only stayed up in Belfast for one night but before checking out on Tuesday, I managed to spend an awful lot of money on myself and it started with a visit to a craft store.

photo-belfast-shopping-craft-supplies

     I didn’t go crazy really, but I still managed to pick up a few selection of Christmas fabric for some crafts I’m working on, a set of journal cards, a pack of embellishments and an absolutely gorgeous embossing folder. I haven’t used it yet but isn’t that tree lovely? It’s so elegant looking.

     Wandering around a bit more that morning, I came across a Waterstones so of course I had to pop in there as well and my am I glad I did!

photo-belfast-shopping-books

     I saw the Brian Cox and Jeff Forshaw book and at first I wasn’t going to pick it up because I figured I should stop buying myself stuff but then I decided what the heck, might as well. It was only going to be £20 seeing as there was £5 off and so I went up to pay for it. At the till, the cashier checked the book and then asked if I wanted a signed copy for the same price. Of course I said yes! Turns out Brian Cox had been doing a signing there the week before and they had a few signed copies left over – score!

photo-belfast-shopping-brian-cox

     So, quite happy with my unexpected signed copy of the book, it was time to leave Belfast and start heading home, down to Dublin and then on to Limerick…of course going from Belfast to Dublin on the motorway, you do pass by Ikea…

photo-belfast-shopping-ikea

     So of course we stopped in IKEA and somehow I convinced my parents that buying their 24-year-old daughter some stuffed teddies was a perfectly reasonable thing to do. I also picked up some sticker sheets and a set of washi tape…I can’t help myself sometimes.

     So that was my two-day shopping trip! I spent a lot of money but it was good fun. This was actually the shopping trip me and my mom planned to do last Christmas but we had to cancel two days before because Victor (our dog who died back in May) suddenly went blind. It made my miss my puppy but it was good to get the trip done!

18 thoughts on “Shopping Trip to Belfast (and IKEA)

    1. Did you? Must admit, haven’t looked at the tape very well, just picked it up because I love the colours xD
      If you can sometime, definitely get to Belfast, it’s a lovely city! Although I did notice there were quite a few more boarded up and empty shopping units than last time I was there – wonder if that’s to do with Brexit.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What a fabulous haul! OOooooh I’m feeling envious, and I love the washi tape! I have a small selection, but I never use it. I tell myself it’s because I don’t find a use for it, but I fear that the truth is that I don’t want to use it because I want to keep it all for myself! LOL

    Great outing Emma.
    ~ Cobs. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, I’ve got a few favourite tapes like that – keep telling myself that I’m just waiting for the perfect opportunity to use them but I think I’m just hoarding them because I love them so much! xD

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

