Snail Mail

November 2016 – Incoming Snail Mail

     Hey everyone, taking another break from Christmas topics today to instead take a look at some of the amazing pieces of mail I received in the post throughout the month of November!

     Let’s take a look at some of my purchases first, the most notable being the arrival of my La Papierre subscription:

photo-la-papierre-1

photo-la-papierre-2     I love the selection for the month, several super cute pieces – I mean look at those adorable woodland creatures, I think we all know that I’m a sucker for cute woodland creatures! My favourite though has to be the polar bears. I love the colours and it’s such a simple design – if only I Ireland has some polar bear stamps to go with it!

     By the way, not sure if I’ve mentioned it in a while but if you do check out the La Papierre subscription and decide to get it, make sure to mention that I (I being Emma Ward) referred you so that we both get extra writing paper!

     Last month, seeing as I was going through a tough time with my master’s degree, I decided to treat myself to a little something and that something happened to be zines (gotta thank Nyx from Sea Green Zines for introducing me to the world of zines!).

photo-bought-zines-3     I wasn’t looking for anything specific so with no idea what I wanted, I just spent a while browsing Etsy until something jumped out at me and eventually something did – I stumbled across this great zine called Pieces 13: On Being a Romantic Asexual by collectingwords and really enjoyed it. I also came across the Letterpress Zine series by artnoose and picked up a random old issue (okay, maybe not so random, I went for the one about a cat!).

     But enough of things I paid for, time to look at some of my pen pal mail now!

       So, I got this in the mail:

photo-missent

     Yup, somehow, a letter from my US pen pal, travelling to Ireland…got sent to Belize! I don’t know how it got there but at least it eventually found its way to Ireland, albeit two months after the letter was written! Has this ever happened to any of your mail, it getting missent somewhere? If so, where’s the strangest place it’s been?

      Thankfully letters ending up on the other side of the world (unintentionally) doesn’t happen too often for me – I’d hate to have had to wait for that seal pup to travel around the world before getting here months late because seriously, look at how cute it is!

     And of course Keely’s mail got to me quickly and safely – I like to think that no mail person would dare mess with dinosaur protected mail!

The final piece of mail I got in November that I’ll show here was an unexpected (but very much appreciated!) happy mail package from Emma over at Soggy Musing.

     This box arrived for me – what ever could be inside? More packages to open, oh the suspense!

photo-an-amazing-package-4

     Emma send me an absolutely wonderful Christmas present full of so many adorable and pretty things! It was an early Christmas present but seeing as I was feeling a bit down about my master’s degree issue, it arrived at just the right time to cheer me up (because you can’t help but feel better when you look at Totoro because…Totoro!).

     And that is that for my incoming mail from last month. I’ll be back tomorrow with more Christmas topics (surprise, I have yet more Christmas cards to show you) and I’ll have my outgoing mail post next week. Speaking of outgoing mail, I best get back to preparing my Christmas mail to send out!

23 thoughts on “November 2016 – Incoming Snail Mail

  1. I’m glad the parcel arrived intact (and that the gem eye stayed on the whale lol). It looks like way more stuff now it’s spread out than I remember putting in there! 😂

    I’m still envious of all those gorgeous stamps. I haven’t managed to buy any from the post office yet (mostly because I keep spending my money on other things ¬_¬).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, isn’t that always the case? You start putting a few things in a box and then you notice you have a bit of extra space so you add in a few more and then some more stuff until you think ‘wow, didn’t think that much would fit in this box!’ – at least that’s what usually happens with me when filling boxes and envelopes xD

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Empy space in a box or gift bag feels like sacrilege, though, like you’re not doing your part, somehow. XD That’s how I always wind up going over budget on Christmas/birthday gifts! (Though, less so this year, since I made “communal” Santa sacks and don’t have to worry so much about filling individual bags.) I sometimes got around it with gift bags by stuffing tissue paper over the top of the gifts, but it’s harder to do that with a mail box. I almost thought it wasn’t all going to fit, though, especially after I added the bubble wrap to protect all the paper goods on their journey! Talk about panic stations. XD

      Liked by 1 person

    3. It is though – like, that empty space just shouldn’t be there! I’ve gotten better at it this year though at admitting I don’t need to buy more things just because the box or bag I’m using is a little big – I’ve also embraced tissue paper for filling in the gaps, oh the magic of tissue paper!

      Liked by 1 person

    4. I’m glad it’s not just me, then. XD My family tends to be a bit lackadaisical about gifts (not a bad thing, per se, but it makes me out of place and somewhat unappreciated when I spend months prepping for Christmas and they ask for my wishlist the week before! 😂) so it’s nice to hear from people like myself just to know I’m not the only one who sees empty (empty, dammit, stupid typo!) space and needs to fill it. XD

      Liked by 1 person

    5. Ah, shopping for Christmas presents in December – that sounds like a nightmare, how do people do that! xD I do most of my present shopping in November because if I’m buying it online, I want to make sure it arrives on time and I don’t like how busy the shops get in December so I do my browsing in November so that I only have to pick up small, specific things come December – Thankfully, I’m not alone in that thinking! My dad tend to leave things till about this time, usually then requiring the help of me or one of my sisters to help him buy a present for our mom, but my mom and both my sisters, we all like to be super prepared with our presents and have them bought before the season even starts!

      Liked by 1 person

    6. I know, right? I have no idea how she does it — but she complains about how stressful Christmas is, so maybe she doesn’t? XD

      I actually started shopping for ideas in July and just kept going. I came up with quite a list this year, and it’s a good job I started early because then I decided I was going to make something for my sister and brother-in-law that I wouldn’t have had time for if I’d started in September like I normally do. (I have to make allowances for if my ME suddenly takes a turn for the worst, as well as for shipping, and it’s better to start early and go slow.) I also made a couple of big santa sacks and three snowmen that I wouldn’t have had time for if I hadn’t started so early, too! I love Christmas, so it’s not a hardship to be planning for it for six months of the year, but I always have a hell of a time finding Christmas supplies that early!

      Liked by 1 person

    7. See that all sounds very reasonable for me! When making things, you gotta start early – I was making my Christmas cards in September (which, for me at least, is a great time for starting Christmas crafts because over the summer Art&Hobby always sell off Christmas craft supplies for half price!).

      Liked by 1 person

    8. I was hoping to get Christmas supplies in sales, too, but maybe I was looking in the wrong places because I couldn’t find anything at all until October, and even then it wasn’t the sort of thing that appeals to me. I had this problem last year, too; I like to finish my Christmas cards by November but couldn’t find any in the online stores that I liked (and was willing to pay for!) until well into December.

      This year, I decided to make Christmas cards for *next* Christmas in the run-up to this Christmas, instead. I found some gorgous papers from My Minds Eye. Would have preferred not to pay full whack for them and get them in the January sales, but I liked them enough and was excited enough to start crafting that I went ahead anyway. XD I think I might be edging on “over-prepared” by starting a whole year early, though!

      Liked by 1 person

    9. Well I buy most of my craft supplies in Art&Hobby. They mostly stock Docrafts brands and whenever the new range of products is out, the old ones for the previous year go on sale at half price so that’s what I often get! Docrafts probably sell them half price online too I imagine.
      I’m not sure how much I can say to you about making next years Christmas cards because I’ve started planning mine already and will probably try make some in January xD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. WOW, what a strange trip! I wonder how such things happen, but I suppose it’s as simple as being tossed in the wrong box by a distracted worker. On a (MUCH) more local note, every single month, I get mail not addressed to me, but that ‘s due to a mix of carrier negligence and the fact my neighborhood was developed with identical street numbers on parallel blocks. I wonder how much of my mail the neighbors get–and what percentage I still receive, eventually. I wonder if they get to read a lot of postcards…

    OH, and I love that map envelope, and its seal stamp!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Funny how one mistake though can send a letter and such a long, windy trip!
      We have a similar situation with mail – there’s a housing estate with the same name as ours but it’s on the other side of the city so every now and again we get a piece of mail for them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never seen a stamp that explicitly states “missent to [place]”–I’m impressed that they were so open about it, haha! I’m glad those dinos did their job well 😀
    I have some holiday goodies just about ready to send off to you; here’s hoping they don’t end up lost on an international adventure of their own!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad they were, made for an interesting story for my blog! Although, there’s no postmark on the stamp itself, I realised, so I wonder how it ended up in Belize in the first place!
      (I should have some goodies in the post by Saturday at the latest, ready to make their way to Hawaii!)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Aww, how lovely is that package?

    I once received a letter from the UK that had somehow ended up with a New Zealand postmark on it?? That one got to me 2 months late as well… unfortunately it was a letter regarding payment of my tuition fees for my masters so I ended up paying a penalty for late payment of the original fees even though it was hardly my fault my letter ended up in New Zealand before finally reaching me in Germany!? Mine didn’t even get a “missent” stamp though – it just had the NZ postmark next to the original UK one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that’s gotta suck, having to pay for a mistake made because a letter got mislaid in the post office somewhere. When you mentioned the letter just having the NZ postmark, I looked back on my letter and realised it doesn’t have and postmark at all, strange!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

