Christmas Crafts · Crafts · Paper Crafts

Christmas Card Making 2016 – III

     Tired of Christmas cards yet? I hope not because I still have a lot more to show! I’m not going to show a batch in this post though but rather focus on an individual card, one I made for my parents.
photo-christmas-card-for-my-parents-2

photo-christmas-card-for-my-parents-3     This card is a really big one, it’s 8×8″ size because my mom loves big cards. I used an 8×8 piece of card for the front and then cut shorter piece of card to go over it, layering some ribbon to make it slightly resemble a present. Then I die-cut a happy Christmas sentiment from the same card stock and layered it over the ribbon. It’s a simple but pretty front.

     Plus, look at how the copper colours in the card shine when they catch the light, so pretty!

photo-christmas-card-for-my-parents-4

     When open it, this starts to happen:

     And when it fully opens:

photo-christmas-card-for-my-parents-7

     So, as you can see, this is one of those pop and twist panel cards. I’d try and explain how I made it but I think that would just turn into one massive mess! You’d be much better off just going to YouTube, searching ‘pop and wist panel card tutorial’ and watching some videos. They look really complicated but once you watch a few videos it starts to make sense. The dimensions for everything given in videos are for smaller cards, I didn’t come across any for cards this big, so I did have to do some trial and error for this size. I don’t have the numbers on hand as I write this but if anyone does want the dimensions for the card you need to cut, just let me know and I can go find them, I have them somewhere.

     You could decorate the panels with whatever you want but I chose to just keep it simple. I layered some patterned paper and then stuck a wood embellishment snowflake on each.

photo-christmas-card-for-my-parents-8

     I have this lovely 4×4″ stamp so I used that for the inside. The sentiment and room for the to and from on one side and the picture on the other, it’s just lovely. I coloured the image part with my copic markers. I know the traditional red and green colours don’t really go with the rest of the card but the image called for those colours! I cut the stamp out, layered it on some paper and stuck that inside. I had a few wood snowflakes left too so I stuck some of those down on the right to fill in some space (there is a lot of space in this card after all!).

photo-christmas-card-for-my-parents-9

    Of course, with all that chunky card and those wood embellishments, this ain’t a light card! It’s pretty darn bulky so I will be sending it as a package (I know, I live in the same house as my parents, but I thought it would be nice for them to get the card sent to them rather than me just handing it to them – they’re my parents so I don’t mind the extra, unnecessary cost!).

     As fr the envelope, thankfully the card pack that the base came in had expandable envelopes!

photo-christmas-card-for-my-parents-1

     I kept the decoration of the envelope pretty simple with just a stamped tree and a few stamped baubles that I few the stings in for. I also added some silver gel pen colouring so parts but that was it.

     And that’s the card! Definitely the most time-consuming card I’ve made, especially taking into consideration the trial and error portion before getting the right measurements!

8 thoughts on “Christmas Card Making 2016 – III

    1. Thanks! It was tricky to get at first but I was able to get it after a few attempts! I definitely think when you’ve got a complicated pop out on the inside, it’s best to keep the front simple 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I hadn’t heard of this card shape before. Most unusual, and totally fabulous. The copper foiling is gorgeous and I like that you have cut the greeting from the same patterned paper. Nice and subtle!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s not the quickest of cards to put together but it’s definitely a statement card for those extra special occasions!
      And I absolutely love the copper foil in the patterned card – I only had three sheets of it in the card pack and I loved it so much I was hoarding it a bit xD I think all of us crafters are guilty of that I think 😀

      Like

  2. I love interactive cards! This is one of my favorites. The envelope decoration is such a nice touch! Your parents are going to love it. The Happy Christmas sentiment is so sincere, I just love that. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays are popular card sentiments here in the US. Yours is a nice change!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gotta love an interactive card, I don’t make them too much but I always have a lot of fun making them! Is ‘Happy Christmas’ not as common a sentiment in the US? I quite like ‘Happy Christmas’ because that’s how I’d say it out, I don’t think I ever actually say ‘Merry Christmas’, I might write it but not say it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

