Crafts · Everything Else

Craft Room Tour 2017

     It’s craft room tour time everyone!

     The week before I showed you some pictured of my craft room but now, come and take a closer peek into my magical wonderland:

photo-craft-room-space-revamp-1

     It’s actually a bit hard to know where to start with this tour. I guess will look to the left first, to my crafty corner:

photo-craft-room-space-revamp-3

     Here, I have the 4×4 Kallax unit from IKEA with the Kallax desk attached. Along the bottom shelves, I have the cheap baskets you can get (they cost €3 each). I originally planned on just having grey ones but I couldn’t find enough of them so I picked up some blue as well and I’m glad I did – I like the splash of colour. In the box on the left, I’m storing all my tools like glue guns and heat guns – things that need to be plugged in. Next to that box is a box full of random supplies I didn’t know where else to put, the third one in is full of wooden and styrofoam shapes for altering and the last box is for things like canvases.

photo-craft-room-space-2017-6

     On the second row, I have my folder of stickers and my die-cut folders being minded by a cute panda teddy that I got in IKEA. The second square is home to a box of goodies – miscellaneous embellishments. I have a pinboard (which wasn’t up yet when I took these pictures) and every now and again I’ll take a few pieces from my miscellaneous box and pin them up so I can see them easier which will encourage me to use them. Next up is another box – this one is full of miscellaneous Christmas supplies though. By the way, the boxes come from a wine store – my twin works in one and when the wine is delivered in nice boxes, she’ll bring the boxes home for me. That’s why I have quite a few wooden wine boxes hanging out my craft room! Anyway, the final square shelf, the one on the very inside, is stuffed with my bag of pillow stuffing. I don’t use it too much so I don’t mind it being a bit awkward to get to.

photo-craft-room-space-2017-5

     Above desk level, I have my embellishment square (bottom left) where I store jars of things like buttons and ribbons and my stamping square (bottom right) where I keep my stamp folders. On top, I have my paper squares. The one on the left is for imperial sizes – 12×12, 8×8 and 6×6 inch packs of card and paper – and on the right is my metric square – A4, A5 and A6 – card and paper. As you can see, I’m using magazine holders on their side to keep the different sizes separated.

photo-craft-room-space-2017-7

     And above desk level, next to the desk, I have my die-cutting and embossing square – folders for storing my dies and embossing folders will be coming soon! – and a drawer insert. The top drawer holds small things I’ve made that I haven’t given to anyone yet and the bottom one holds cards I’ve made. The square on the top left hold card. There’s a magazine holder for just white card, one for coloured card and one for card bases. The final square of this unit hold my sketchpads and also pieces of cardboard that I get from packaging which might be useful for making something someday.

     As for the desk itself:

photo-craft-room-space-2017-8

     I’m trying to keep it clutter free for the most part. I have my cutting mats – one’s clean and one is covered in glue. I have my A4 trimmer, some drawers filled with bits and pieces, a container I’m using as my desktop bin and a tile I’m using for somewhere to put my cup of tea.

photo-craft-room-space-2017-4

     On the wall behind my desk, I have this handy rail with pots for storing scissors, pens, tools and such. Above it is the previously mentioned pinboard though as you can see, it wasn’t put up yet for this photo. I also have a cat bed in my craft room though so far, no cats have been very interesting in it. I live in hope though. Oh, I also got some of those easy to attach sticky back hooks for circular knitting needles.

     Onto the middle section of my craft and we have the Alex drawer unit:

     Top to bottom: ink pads and wood block stamps, embossing powders and washi tapes, tapes and glue, punches and staplers, paints and brushes, ribbon.

     Many of the drawers look quite empty but that just means I have room to grow! On top of the unit, I have my scoring board, some punch boards and also different kinds of boards like a glass chopping board, just in case I need something like that!

photo-craft-room-space-2017-3

     Onto the final part of my craft room now, my work station as I call it:

photo-craft-room-space-revamp-2

     On top of the desk, it’s pretty simple – I have my printer, a lamp and a small jar of fake flowers because I just didn’t know where else to put it really. I have my IKEA sewing machine tucked away in the square at desk level so it’s out of the way but easy to pull out when I need it. Next to that, I have some magazine holders filled with things like printer paper, sticker paper, envelopes, plastic pockets and laminating pouches – kinda boring stuff!

photo-craft-room-space-2017-1

     On top, I have a square for any craft related books I have and might get in the future and finally, the fabric square – with fabric layered in a way so hopefully I’ll actually see what I have! I also have my mini sewing machine there.

     I forgot to photograph the bottom shelves but that’s where I’m storing my light box. I also have a box filled with tissue paper.

     But that’s my craft room! This has been quite a long and picture heavy post. Apologies for that! I hope you’ve still enjoyed my craft room tour though. I know a lot of people might not have the space or money for something like this but hopefully there’s been something here that you can take away for your own craft space, no matter how big or small it is!

51 thoughts on “Craft Room Tour 2017

  1. Your craft space is awesome. It’s so neat and tidy!! And the light is perfect. I love Ikea so much. I bought some furniture from there as well and I just converted our junk room into a craft space. Unfortunately I can’t do too much to it right now. We will be moving in a few months. When we get settled at our next home, this will be one of the things on the top of our list.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The light in the room is pretty good, especially on sunny days although those are few and far between here xD
      Hope you can get your craft room sorted out when you move house!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love it! I’ve told hubby-to-be that I would like a sewing room when we move house at the end of the year. I’m definitely taking inspiration from your craft room. Enjoy your wonderful space 🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, definitely get yourself a sewing room! I don’t sew too much (just because there’s so many arts and crafts I’m trying to get around to doing!) but I’ve definitely been using my machine a lot more recently since it’s out and I don’t have to clear everything off my desk! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I love the natural light in the room. It’s lovely on a bright day – although, there hasn’t been too many bright days recently what with all the rain and storms!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, always the risk of what’ll happen to your room when you move out xD The solution so to never move out, that’s what I’ve done! (I’ll pretend is has nothing to do with the fact that I just have no money at all and so can’t afford to move out xD)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Emma!
    You and I have very similar tastes… From the Ikea units, the desk (I have another Ikea desk too – for my Big Beasty computer and the printer …. and my ribbon storage wardrobes (without doors on)… then a 3rd desk which isn’t Ikea, but that’s the one I work on, and a little 4th desk, which is where all my die cutting stuff is, and in the two sets of drawers under that desk is where all my wooden back stamps are and all my various pens, and some adornments which I’ve bought especially for different projects.

    AND … we also chose our magazine storage binders exactly the same too – the roses ones. From Tesco, right? LOL. I have two of those too. But so wish I’d bought more when they were discounted.

    Like you, I used to have some spare room in my craft room. But … Give a crafter some space and she’ll (or he’ll) fill it! You’ll soon be wondering what happened to all that lovely space you had. We crafters can’t help it. Like you said … some gals buy shoes. Some buy handbags … crafters … buy craft stuff. It’s an addiction, and we don’t want to be cured.

    GREAT tour of your lovely room. Love the colour scheme. Thank you for the share, my fabulous crafty friend.
    ~ Cobs. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So many desks you have! xD
      Yup, from Tesco! I love those magazine holders – I really wish I had bought more of them. I like how sturdy they are. They had enough space in them when I first got them to store what I needed but I can’t help it, I’m a crafter – I just keep buying more paper and card! When putting the room together, I made sure to plan in space to grow but that space will only last so long! xD

      Liked by 1 person

    2. *nodding in agreement*
      I keep thinking that I really should do a craft room tour … but then I look around my craft room and just can’t. It’s kind of … mine. lol.

      All the desks. …. I know. I’m so embarrassed. The great big one is the one I like to work at. One Ikea desk was bought just for the computer and printer. But … it goes into a corner on one end, and it means I can use that corner for stuff I don’t need every moment of the day.
      The second Ikea desk is for die cutting. I have a big pink electric Ebosser machine. And a Big Shot machine – my original and (in my opinion) still the best. It cuts all my deep dies, and it cuts to perfection. And … I have a tiny blue Sapphire – which is the machine I use the most. Cannot believe I do .. but I truthfully do.
      On that desk are also storage folders of dies, and then I got wise to storage folders and realised that they were the worst thing I’d ever bought because once you take those dies out of the packs they came in, you have no idea who’s die it is, or what it’s called. So now, I keep all my dies in their packages, and store them inside small magazine style holders. Like the Tesco Roses ones which we both have … but these are much smaller. I got them from a local store, free of charge (my favourite price). They were part of the display packaging which some air freshners came in, and I saw an empty one on the shelves, so asked the lady if they were normally thrown away? She told me they were, so I asked if I could possibly have it, and told her about me being a crafter and needing some storage boxes to hold some of my bits of equipment safely. She said I could have that one, and that if I came in and saw any others about to be empty, then I could have those too. They even saved me a couple until I went in the next time.

      I was cock-a-hoop with them, as they’re really well made, and they hold dies perfectly.

      Finally … the 3rd (last) Ikea desk was bought in order for it to be my sewing desk. But at the moment it’s got some crafting things on there, waiting for me to organise them and put them where they belong. Which I will …. eventually. LOL.
      Cobs. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Ah, I imagine if I had a Big Shot I’d also want a desk for it just so I’d never have to put it away! Maybe I’ll get a Big Shot someday but I like how small and tidy my Cuttlebug is. Might not be able to use the big dies and embossing folders in it but there aren’t too many of them so it’s not worth a bit machine at the moment.
      What a great way to get craft storage! I guess it really doesn’t hurt to ask, never know when you’ll come across a free storage solution!
      I do use storage folders for my dies…well, I use the pockets with the magnetic sheets in them minus the actual folder that they go in. I just haven’t gotten around to getting it yet! xD At the moment I just have the pockets with the dies in them along with my embossing folders sitting in a cardboard box that some cat food came in – works fine for now! I don’t mind taking my dies out of the packaging – I usually remember who made the things and if I don’t…well, not too pushed about that! Unless it’s a die set that matches a stamp set – I’ll keep that in the packaging along with the stamp set because it makes sense for them to be together.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great room! Love the way you’ve organised things. I will definitely use your idea where you pin things up on a board so you remember to use them – I’m like a magpie when it comes to craft stuff so keep buying things and forgetting about older stuff so this would help me actually use things I bought a while back! TFS x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pinning things up so they’re visible is a great idea – especially because you can set yourself the challenge of when you want to making something, having to use up something from the pinboard 🙂

      Like

    1. Honestly mine would say the same and if you look at my house and internet search history it would scream ‘totally obsessed with Ikea’. When you can search using their item names you know you have a problem……….(totally what I do!) Hannah x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Aah, so much storage space! I have craft room envy! As I’ve said before, my craft room doubles as my office so EVERYTHING has to go in there. We need more furniture though so lots of stuff doesn’t have a proper home.

    The wooden wine boxes look great. Useful having a twin who works in a wine store!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I do love my storage – seriously, can’t stop looking at storage solutions for craft supplies when I go to stores! xD
      I love my wooden boxes – I mean, normal cardboard boxes would work just as well but I like the designs of the wine boxes (even if I don’t like wine at all!)

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

