Planners

2017 Reading Tracking

     So, one of my goals for 2017 is to read at least 26 books – that’s one book every two weeks so nothing too tricky! At the start of the year, I made a list of 26 books to read. Of course, I’m not limiting myself to just these books – I’ve already read several not on the list – but my plan is to try get all of these books read as some of them I’ve had for quite a while!

     I have a bookshelf section in my A5 planner for tracking books I have read and rating them and I really like that section, but I kinda wanted to keep my 2017 reading separate so I could easily see it.

     I opted to copy the bookshelf look but just label it ‘2017 reading list’!

     At first I was just going to keep it plain looking because as I read books I’ll colour them in and that will eventually give the whole page colour but a few weeks in I decided it was looking a little dull and I had to do something about it!

photo-a5-planner-bookshelf-insert-2     I’ve listed all the books I want to read this year. They’re also listed in the main section of my bookshelf but it’s handy being able to see a year at a time as well.

     As I’m not limiting myself to just those books though, the other side of the page features a blank shelf ready to be filled with all those unplanned reads!

      I love sites like Goodreads.com which let you track your reading, rate books and even mention if you have the book and what condition it’s in. Goodreads is a fantastic resource but sometimes, you just also want a physical list because there is something really satisfying about filling in those shelves and colouring the books in!

      Do you track your reading? If so, how do you go about doing it?

38 thoughts on “2017 Reading Tracking

  1. I have a bullet journal and track the books I read each month (to do a recap) and then a master page, like yours for the year. I also have a note in my phone, but I just got into using Libib for my lists too. I use Goodreads, but it won’t count a book a “read” and count towards your reading challenge goal unless you click “reading” then “update progress” and that can be a bit annoying sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can fix that on goodreads if you just select read, it doesn’t know when you actually read it so the dates are blank. You can edit your information for the books and list when you started and finished it so it will count towards your reading goal then!

      Like

    1. Your post made me think about what I have already read in 2017. I go to a book club so there is definitely one book a month but sometimes I just read a read. Just finished a real page turner so struggling to pick up a new one to match it.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I know that feeling – when you finish a really good book it can be hard to start another one for fear it won’t be as good! When that happens, I find the best thing for me to do is just read a book in an entirely different genre so that I won’t be comparing the books so if I just finish a page turning fantasy novel and am worried the next fantasy novel won’t be as good, I’ll read some travel literature first!

      Like

  2. I don’t really track my reading in a journal/planner of any kind…but I do LOVE the Litsy app. Since I’ve started using that app, I am able to better remember which books I’ve read + what their plots were (I’m a pretty voracious reader so it’s easy to forget sometimes). 🙂 Anyone else here on Litsy?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve not heard of Litsy before, I’ll have to check it out! I don’t know what I would do without a website like goodreads though – I’d never be able to remember what I’ve read!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how you drew out the bookshelf to record your titles. Much more interesting than a simple list!

    Goodreads is one of my favorite ways to keep track of my “to read” and “read” lists, particularly because the mobile app lets you scan the cover or barcode of a book to immediately add it to the list. Very convenient for browsing bookstores.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve not actually used that feature yet but yes, I can imagine it being very useful for browsing bookstores…or dangerous – I’d probably end up with a mammoth to read list from just one trip to the book shop, just scanning and adding everthing to me list xD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love goodreads, I used it last year and really enjoyed the system. But this year as I got into planning I decided to use the monthly views for my books so I fill in the days when I finished a book and get a nice overview of how many books I read every month. February was a bit slow and looks a bit empty but that way I have motivation to read more books the next months so that they look nicer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Goodreads is great as a long term tracking system, I find. I started using is several years ago and it’s nice to be able to look back and see what I read five years ago, how long it took or even how many pages I read that year (I just love stats and graphs xD). On a yearly basis though, having my book tracking in my planner is going really well. I agree with you, I do think it helps motivate to read more!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. My book, One Sweet Development, is now available on Amazon.com! Go to my author page at Amazon.com/author/Jennifer Skinnell and click on the link. If you do read it, please write a review!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great idea! I love the doodle of the bookshelf and the idea to color them in once read. The idea of being able to color the books in would be a great motivation for me to stay on point. I have never heard of Goodreads but will look into it. I’m always looking for books to read. I have been slacking on my reading this year and your post has inspired to set a goal, make a list and pick up a book. Thanks! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad I could provide some inspiration! Goodreads is a great site for tracking your reading. I’ve been using it for several years now and it’s great to see, for example, what I was reading in 2011!
      Having a physical list too though is also great. I do find being able to colour in the books when I’ve finished reading them does motivate me a bit a actually finish books!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, I used to just have a really long list of books to read but I think it intimidated me – there were just so many to read! I find it best to just think of a years worth of books at a time 🙂

      Like

  6. I am a fairly new member of Goodreads. I am on a mission to read and review 50 books this year. So far I am on target. It’s funny but the number of books I have reviewed is pretty much equal to the number of reviews my memoir has been given! Good Karma. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. 50 books, good luck with that! I don’t tend to review books on goodreads although I do have a notebook where I write a few thoughts on each book I read (sometimes just a sentence on if I enjoyed reading it or not). I find it does help me finish up with a book and settle my thoughts on it 🙂
      Hopefully the number of books you review and the number of reviews you get will keep pace with each other!

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

