Books

My January, February, March and April in Books

     Hey everyone, how’s it going? Remember how on Wednesday I had to post a craft post because I hadn’t written my usual Wednesday snail mail post yet? Well, it wasn’t actually a snail mail post that I was going to post, it was a book post and I finally got around to writing it!

     So I very much enjoy reading and I do think that there’s quite an overlap between book lovers, snail mail enthusiast and planner nerds (especially seeing as how popular the book tracking section of my planner is!). I do keep a small notebook where I write a few quick thoughts about the books I finish but I thought it would be fun to start a monthly blog series looking at the books I’ve read that month.

     Actually, I did used to write posts about books every now and again last year but I stopped for some reason so this really isn’t anything new for Puddleside Musings!

     Anyway, that explains the sudden appearance of books as a topic here. Onto the actual books – what have I been reading in the month of April?

     Okay, the answer to that is not that much. I currently haven’t actually finished a book this month – I have been playing a lot of games and watching anime instead…I’m almost finished with reading Jason Lewis – To the Brink (The Expedition #3) though. It’s the third book in the series about his over a decade long journey to circumnavigate the globe without using any motor powered devices and I can say that it’s just as good as the other two, meaning, I am liking it very much.

     So end of post then?

     Well, seeing as this is the first post about books in a while, I do have the last few months of book reading that I can mention in lieu of this months reading!

     Let’s start with what I read in January:

     I started my month with Ed Stafford – Walking the Amazon and followed it up with Andrej Sapkowski – The Last Wish, two very different books! I’d gotten Walking the Amazon for Christmas and it had been on my list of books to read but The Last Wish was a spur of the moment read as I’d been playing The Witcher game and decided I wanted to start reading the series the games are based on.

     For a short month, February was busy for reading:

     I started with Kang Chol-Hwan – The Aquariums of Pyongyang: Ten Years in the North Korean Gulag, just one of many books on my to-read list for 2017 that happen to be about North Korea (I didn’t plan on having loads in my to-read list, it just sort of happened that way!). It was a really good book, very insightful about the horrors of North Korea. Unfortunately, the next book I read wasn’t very good – Charlie N. Holmberg – The Paper Magician. It had a pretty cover and an interesting premise for the magic used in the book but sadly the plot wasn’t nearly enough. I ended up just skimming to finish the book because I hate leaving a book half read. To pick up from that, I switched back to some non-fiction in the form of Colin Freeman – Kidnapped and while I didn’t finish it until March, I did also start reading V.E. Schwab – A Conjuring of Light in February. It was a much better read than The Paper Magician. A Conjuring of Light is the last book of a trilogy though and while it was good, it didn’t catch my attention as much as the first in the series.

     Anyway, moving on to March now:

     It was mentioned several times in Kidnapped by Colin Freeman so I decided to give Brian Keenan – An Evil Cradling a read and for a book about a man being kidnapped and held for four and a half years, it was an enjoyable read! One of my favourite books from this year though has to be Thordis Elva – South of Forgiveness: A True Story of Rape and Responsibilty. As you can tell from the subtitle of the book, it’s about rape. It  is not an easy book to read due to the subject but it is worth reading because it is so well written, honest and brave.

From the Goodreads synopsis:

South of Forgiveness is an unprecedented collaboration between a survivor and a perpetrator, each equally committed to exploring the darkest moment of their lives. It is a true story about being bent but not broken, of facing fear with courage, and of finding hope even in the most wounded of places.

     And so that was my reading for the first quarter of 2017.

     Oh wait, I also read Levison Wood – Walking the Americas.

     So nine books, ten if you include the one I’m almost finished – I’m on track for my reading goal for the year!

     Of ten books I’ve read, I’d have to say I’d recommend all of them except The Paper Magician. If I could only pick one to recommend though, I’d have to pick South of Forgiveness.

     I’d love to have gone into more detail on each book but I had a lot to cover in this post. Hopefully in future book posts I’ll keep on top of what I’ve read and have the word count to give some thoughts on each.

     Let me know if you like the idea of my mixing things up every now and again with book posts. If you want to read them, I’ll definitely keep doing them because I can’t imagine I’ll stop reading!

     Any if you ever have book recommendations for me, I’m always open to suggestions – you can tell because I have a mile long to-read book list!

     Have a good weekend – hope you have a good book to read!

11 thoughts on “My January, February, March and April in Books

  1. Always interested in book recommendations (and ones to avoid!). It’s too easy to just keep reading the same authors and genres. Have you read any Haruki Murakami? I hardly ever re-read books, but The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle is an exception.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, it’s really easy to just play it safe with books so it’s good I think to get recommendations every now and again!
      And I have read some Murakami! Excellent writter! I’ve read The Wild Sheep Chase and Sputnik Sweetheart. Oh, and one of his short stories but I don’t know if I should count that because I read it in Japanese and couldn’t really understand all of it

      Like

  2. Oh cute is that little bookshelves page, with all the books and names? Just love it so much. I love reading but, these days, I don’t read as much as I would like too. It has been like that for a few years. When I was younger I would read 3-4 books a week. Miss that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It did sound good, and the first chapter or two weren’t bad (they weren’t great either), but it was absolutely ridiculous how quickly the main character falls in love with her teacher and none of the characters feel fleshed out, there’s no real dimension to them.

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

