Books

My May in Books

     Hey everyone, how’s it going? Hope you’re all doing well. I’m back today with a book post because it’s the end of the month so it’s time to see what I’ve been reading! Let’s just skip my usual rambling and jump straight into it.

     The first book I read in May was Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink by Mary Potter Kenyon and Mary Jedlicka Humston. I won’t go into that here because I already wrote a full blog post on it which you can check out here.

32560101     The second book I read in May was The Elephant in the Room by Jon Ronson. It’s less of a book really and more of a long essay because it is only 48 pages long. It’s Jon Ronson’s look at the alt-right election campaign in America and it’s connection to the utterly crazy talk show host Alex Jones, although as it did come out in September 2016, it obviously doesn’t take into account the fact that Trump somehow did in fact get elected so it is dated. I do enjoy Ronson’s writing style though and I’m a fan of some of his other books (such as The Psychopath Test) so while he doesn’t say anything new or surprising in this essay, it was still a good read.

 13121333    The third book I read in May was Canoeing the Congo by Phil Harwood and it’s my favourite of what I read (you know I do love my travel literature!). It’s an account of Phil Harwood’s five month-long journey canoeing down the Congo river from its source to sea. I don’t really know what to say other than that! It’s a well written book so if you enjoy travel literature, I think you’ll like this.

     And that’s actually all I read this month. I had great plans of reading loads and loads of books this month but being sick for half the month, I really did lose my motivation and ended up just playing video games instead! Not that playing video games is a bad thing but it means my pile of books hasn’t gotten much smaller…in fact, it’s actually gotten bigger because last week I went to Brian Cox Live (learning astronomy on a Wednesday night in an arena = a great time!) and bought some more books for me to read:

     I got Robin Ince’s Bad Book Club and Brian Cox’s Forces of Nature – which I actually already own the hardcover copy of it already but this one was signed by him so now I have two books signed by him!

     So, not much read this month but I do have great plans for June.

     As always, if you have any book recommendations or you’ve read any of the books I mentioned here, let me know in the comments below and share your thoughts!

8 thoughts on “My May in Books

  1. I’ve recently read The Last Act of Love by Cathy Renzenbrink – an honest account from a sister about her brother hurt in an accident and how they cared for him in the years after It has since played on my mind about what is right and what is wrong if there is no quality of life. Would recommend if you are looking for a more serious book. I also recently read How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry. Totally different style of book – chick lit – quick read – not challenging – predictable – not one to particularly recommend unless you want a ‘sunbed read’. ‘Sunbed read’ is one you take on holiday, don’t worry about getting wet by the pool or covered in sun lotion, and you leave it there for the next guest!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, not heard that phrase ‘sunbed read’ before! I’ll keep that in mind. Chick lit isn’t a genre I can say I’ve read much of…if any now that I think about it! I’d probably pick up an autobiography or something for a sunbed read! I’ll keep that other book in mind though. I enjoy reading fun adventures and travel lit but it’s good every now and again to read something serious that gets you thinking. Sounds like ‘The Last Act of Love’ could be a similar type of read to ‘South of Forgiveness’ which was a really moving book (highly recommend it).

      Like

    2. Glad you liked my comment. There are a lot of books out there that are worth reading and a lot that aren’t too! Just looked up South of Forgiveness, thanks, might consider that one in future. I like a good autobiography too, though not my favourite genre, it really has to be someone I am truly interested in.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. So true. I have decided if I am not enjoying a book I shall give up on it – life’s too short to read poor ones! (Apart from my book club reads, I shall charge on with those even if they seem disappointing along the way!)

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

