Books

My June Reading

     Hey everyone, how’s it going? Hope you’re all doing well.

     I think people are enjoying my monthly book posts so I’m back again with my June reading this time!

     In the first half of the month, I read two books, Lion (A Long Way Home) by Saroo Brierley and Grief is the Thing with Feathers by Max Porter. Lion was the first book I read. I spotted this a while ago when I was browsing Amazon for ebooks and added it to a list of potential books to get but ended up picking up the paperback on a whim. I don’t often read biographies, I prefer travel literature, but Lion sounded like an interesting book. It’s now apparently a major motion picture but I’ve actually never heard of the film. Anyway, if you don’t know it, Lion is Saroo’s story about how he got lost on a train in India when he was five years old, ended up growing up in Australia with adoptive parents and eventually found his Indian family twenty-five years later. I started reading this book on a Friday afternoon and had it finished before the clock struck midnight! It was a really good read and I really enjoyed it. Highly recommend!

     The second book I read was the short book by Max Porter. This one I got because my sister spotted it in the store and was curious (mostly just because of the cover). I read the description and thought it could be interesting so I picked it up. It’s a short book, only about 115 pages and really, it’s not a novel at all. It’s a mix of prose and poetry. I’m fine with that, I don’t mind poetry at all, but I just didn’t click with this book. The topic is grief and about a man and his two sons dealing with the sudden loss of his wife and their mother. It’s not something I particularly connect with having (thankfully) not lost anyone in a sudden way like that. Also, the dad in the book is a Ted Hugh’s scholar and I feel like you have to have read Ted Hugh’s poetry before reading this book to fully get it which I have not. So, as it stands, I think this goes on the not sure about list.

      The next book on my reading list was Worth Dying For: The Power and Politics of Flags by Tim Marshall. Actually, I was in the shops looking for Prisoners of Geography also by Tim Marshall which had been on my list of books to get on Amazon but the bookshop didn’t have it in at the time. Instead I spotted Tim Marshall’s newest book so I just picked that up instead. I will admit that as I write this, I haven’t finished Worth Dying For yet but I’m enough of the way through it to say that it’s good. It’s not exactly one of those books that you pick up and just can’t put down, more of read a chapter here and a chapter there book, but it is still quite interesting if you want to learn more about flags and the history of some of them. For example, while I don’t agree with the obsession, I understand a little more now about why American’s pretty much worship their flag. Also, I did eventually find Prisoners of Geography so that’s on my reading list for next month!

     This month, I also joined Audible.co.uk. Anyone else use it? I started reading The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss ages ago and was enjoying it but for whatever reason at the time, I stopped about half way through the book. I wanted to finish it but it’s been long enough that I felt I needed to start again. However, it’s a fairly long book and I find that these days, I don’t have the motivation to read long books! I love fantasy but I’ve developed commitment issues – I just don’t know if I want to commit myself to three 600+ page books as most fantasy stories seem to be these days. Anyway, I thought that listening to audio books might solve my problem – I can still consume fantasy stories but not deal with those thick books. With that in mind, I signed up to Audible and I’m now half way through listening to The Name of the Wind. I like being able to do other things while listening so I think I’m going to keep up my Audible subscription. It should be a good way to get through The Song of Ice and Fire series too.

     So that’s what I’ve been reading (and now listening too) this month. What have you been reading?

14 thoughts on “My June Reading

  1. I just got into audio books myself. II like listening to them in the car for the week. Some of the voicing can be painful. Currently reading Mr Mercedes by Stephen King. It is read by Will Patton who did another of King’s audio books nicely. Lion sounds good and I will put it on my list.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Always tricky finding the right voice to listen to. You can love a book but if the wrong person is reading it there’s just no enjoyment!

      Like

  2. I am currently struggling to finish a Jeffery Deaver – I’ve read and enjoyed many of his crime novels in the past, but something awful seems to have happened to his writing style in this one and it’s really hard work… I ought to just abandon it, but I’ve got this far…. My background, pick up and read a few pages at a time, book is Peter Ackroyd’s London: The Biography, which is much easier going, but huge…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Think I’ve only read one Jeffery Deaver novel before. Hate when you love an author though but the writing seems to go downhill. Can really sour your memories of the good stuff too!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I think it’s just this Kathryn Dance series, I’ve read ones in the Lincoln Rhyme series that were written after this one and they were fine. Fingers crossed…

      Like

  3. That’s very interesting, Lion is on my list, so I’ve just downloaded the sample to see if I enjoy the style of writing. Right now, I’m reading Soul Music. I love Terry Pratchett’s work, but I hadn’t read this one. I haven’t found it quite as entertaining as Mort, but I’m going to persevere because I really want to know what happens! 😉 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is very strange to me, the flag worship some Americans have, because here in Ireland, people only really pay attention to flags and buy flags when there’s big sport matches on!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

