Crafts · Paper Crafts

Mammoth Card Making Session

      Hey everyone, how’s it going? Hope you’re all doing well. Oh boy, do I have a mammoth card making session to share with you today. Here’s some of the cards that I made a few months back from a card making session that saw the making of a total of 16 cards!

     There’s no cohesive theme for the cards. I had a few planned out and the others just sort of came into being from scraps and when I was flicking through my die-cuts and journal cards for elements to use.

     So, with so many cards to get through, I won’t go into too much detail on each one but if you want to know about any particular supplies I used for a card, ask away.

     First up, my sea theme cards:

     I think these cards are my favourite from the batch. I love the My Favourite Things watercolour wash paper pack that I used in some of these! The lighthouse and instrument pieces are from a StudioLight Summer At The Beach die cut set.

     Having used the watercolour pattern paper as a stormy sky in one of those sea cards, I came up with the idea to use these mirror raindrops on top of a piece alongside a die cut ‘get well soon’ sentiment.

     I love the mirror raindrops but cards with mirrors on them are so hard to photograph right!

     Next up, two very simple cards:

     For the first one, I wanted to use my dandelion embossing folder. It’s lovely but I’ve never actually used it before for a card! I very lightly rubbed a green ink pad over the embossed dandelion, cut the piece down a bit and then backed it onto a piece of greeny/teal colour paper that kinda matched how the ink came out. I had it in mind as a sympathies card but decided not to add a sentiment in the end. For the Congratulations card, I cut some glitter paper for the front of the card, die cut from a white piece of card and used some foam tape to pop it up from the glitter.

      These next cards were made using the scrap pieces from the above card along with from the scrap pieces from one of the sea cards above:

     These cards are super, simple but sometimes that works…I think! I rounded the corners of the congratulations card and I do think that helps make it look like a finished card.

     Usually when I make my cards I work on white card bases but I used grey card for these next two and I found it fun to work with a different colour:

     The thank you card came from just browsing my die-cut folder and stumbling across elements I liked. I actually die-cut the sentiment from a lavender image die cut piece and I love how it came out! I put it onto some purple watercolour pattern paper and outlined with a white gel pen so those parts popped out a bit more. The purple I miss you card just involved some layering of pieces of paper. It’s my attempt at a masculine card!

     Okay, onto my last two cards now, my fox and bunny cards:

     The first one is just a copy of the previous baby cards I’d made but in blue (the others were pink and yellow). The birthday card is another favourite from the card batch. I love the wood embossing folder! I embossed brown paper but then I added some darker brown ink to the raised parts, giving it more depth. Before doing that though, I die cut the shapes from the front of the card along with the brown paper and then stamped fox and bunny on the inside.

     Okay, so that was my card batch! Not all the cards I made that day, mind you. Some I made a few mistakes with but still finished making the cards so I’m wondering what to do with those and I also very quickly made some cards to send out to pen pals but I didn’t photograph them for this post.

     As usual, if you really like any of these cards, they are for sale up in my Etsy shop!

     Which card was your favourite?

19 thoughts on “Mammoth Card Making Session

    1. It is lovely. I really don’t use it all that much, I need to sit down someday and just make as many different cards as I can with it to really get a feel for it.

      Like

  1. Wow what a super making session! I think the raindrop get well card is my favourite, but the cute fox and bunny ones are very close. And they’re all so different – if I made that many cards in one go I’d run out of ideas so fast and they’d all just be the same

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, ya, mirrors and cameras really don’t play well together but I shall persist because there’s some mirror card I really want to try use in my cardmaking 🙂

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

