Crafts · Sewing

A Journey into Sewing

     Hey everyone, how’s it going? Hope you’re all doing well.

     Do you remember when you first started out learning a craft? Sewing is one of my more recent hobbies to take up. Even though I’ve sort of been sewing for years, because it’s something I only do every few months, I am still in the very beginner stages of learning. After having a sewing machine for over a year, the only thing I had made was a handful of infinity scarves.

     Eventually, after watching quite a few YouTube videos, I had the urge to get my sewing machine out and try make something a little bit more complicated. I settled on the idea of making myself a pair of pj shorts. Here they are:

     Okay, this is actually my second pair of shorts. The first pair, well, they looked like shorts but unfortunately I had used fabric with no stretch so they didn’t fit at all. Seeing my error, I sought out more stretchy fabric. Actually, I ended up buying a cheap dress from Penney’s to use for my practice as I wasn’t going all the way into town to buy some!

     I cut my pattern from the dress fabric, sewed everything together and added an elastic waist band. I did somehow miss sewing some sections. I don’t know how that happened…probably my inability to sew straight lines!

     Well, at least my mistakes were easy to fix with some more sewing and hey, they looked and worked as a pair of shorts! A bit sloppy on the sewing but that’s why I made pyjama shorts – they’re for wearing at night when no one can see you!

     Sadly, I only got a few wears out of these shorts as a hole appeared in them. Happily though, the hole wasn’t anywhere near my sewing – it was just a cheap fabric problem!

     I have actually made a few more things (and I think gotten better at sewing!) since making this pair of shorts. I’ll try get around to posting some of them but I thought that before showing you them, it would be fun to look at my first make – if we don’t count those scarves that is. The scarves were just folding fabric in half and sewing a straight line whereas making the shorts involved a bit more work of cutting and sewing so I’m going to count this as my start.

     I hope that I’ll be able to write more sewing posts in the future and be able to see how far I’ve come by comparing them to this. Everyone’s got to start somewhere with a craft and this is my sewing record so I don’t forget that!

     Do you have a record of your first foray into a craft that you’re now more skilled at? It’s easy to forget how far we’ve come at something so I think it’s important to keep a record of some sort. What do you think?

11 thoughts on “A Journey into Sewing

    1. I know how that feels! I’m trying to sew regularly now so as not to forget how to do it because when I sewed something once a year, I’d have to relearn the basics each time!

      Like

  1. Those shorts are cute! Too bad the fabric tore, but it happens. At least like you said, they were a practice project.

    I first sat down to a sewing machine about fifteen years ago. I’ve had my own machine for about a decade. But, I only use it about once every six months or so, because I get so frustrated. I can’t sew a straight line to save my life. I’ve tried to practice; there were some days I’d sit there for HOURS with scrap fabric just sewing line after line, but they always veered off, especially if I was trying to sew something longer than a couple inches. There has to be some trick to keeping lines straight and even that I just don’t know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!
      I was a bit the same when I first got my sewing machine a few years ago which I think is why it’s taken me so long to really focus on making things with it. I really do struggle with straight lines though!
      Whenever I can, I use a ruler and some chalk to draw the line I’ll be sewing and that does help a lot with keeping things straight because I have a clear line to follow but if I have to eye things, it tends to go all over the place!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome!!! Sewing with Knit fabric like you used can be tricky, so don’t give up! Having a walking foot helps greatly.
    One of my first projects was some pajama shorts made from Quilters’ cotton (very easy to sew, bonus!).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. very well done Emma!
    And like you say … they’re jammy shorts, so if there is a little something which isn’t quite perfect – who cares?!!! No one’s going to see them but you and yours. You’re not suddenly going to go out for the night in them!

    But to be honest … they’re a great project and you’ve done really well with them. I’m impressed big time!
    Well done you clever thing.
    Sending love and squidges ~ Cobs. x

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

