Crafts · Paper Crafts

Quick and Simple Notebooks

     Hey everyone, how’s it going? Hope you’re all doing well. I did intend on having a July reading blog post today but I’ll let you in on a secret – I haven’t really read anything this month! Well, I haven’t finished anything. I got a bit distracted by playing video games. It happens! Instead, here’s a short craft post about notebooks for you.

     First a notebook similar to the ones I made here. This one just uses staples to hold the pages together so you don’t need anything fancy at all to make it – just test out how many pages your stapler can handle and that’s the page count for your notebook!

     There was a selection of gorgeous papers in the Flow Book for Paper Lovers volume 4 featuring all different kinds of paper from old lined paper and graph paper to the kind of record keeping paper above so I used them all to make this notebook and actually, I used one of the card section dividers for the Flow Book for Paper Lovers to make the cover because it was sturdy but also looked really good with the papers.

     I added some chipboard embellishments that I had to the front to complete the notebook.

     For the second notebook, I wanted to try something a little different – I wanted to try sew the pages together.

     I picked a few random pages from the Flow Book for Paper Lovers (I can’t remember how many, seven maybe?) and sewed them together down the centre using my sewing machine.

     This was actually my first attempt and for a first attempt, it’s not too bad – I mean, the neater part is on the inside and the messier part on the outside but other than little mistake, not bad! I even managed to sew in a pretty much straight line!

     So really, it’s not that difficult to make your own small notebooks – why not give it a go? It’s a great way of using up paper you might have. You can use plain printer paper or a selection of different patterned papers (I think loads of different papers makes for a great travel journal style notebook).

     If you do feel inspired by this short post to make your own notebooks, let me know and do share the result!

13 thoughts on “Quick and Simple Notebooks

  1. Haha I grt sidetracked by video games a lot too! What are you playing?
    As for the notebooks, what a wonderful idea. When my partner and I were on holiday my partner really took an interest in making notebooks, I will show him this and maybe it will jog his memory!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Been playing a lot of Tales of Zestiria and Tales of Berseria. Then, to try ween myself away from 100+ hour games, I just moved onto playing a lot of point and click adventure games – love those!

      Like

    1. I’ll have to look those up then!
      Glad the puffin mail arrived! I haven’t seen your email yet, been so busy the last few days that I haven’t actually been checking things

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

