Crafts · Sewing

Sewing an Autumnal Tote Bag

     Hey everyone, how’s it going? Hope you’re all doing well. I’m quite excited today to show you a recent sewing project of mine. As you may know, sewing is one of my more recent crafty uptakes and a while ago I showed you the pair of shorts I sewed as my first sewing project. Well, today I have my second major sewing project – a tote bag!

     It came out quite well, if I do say so myself, and by quite well I mean that the bag has been used and it hasn’t fallen apart. Success!

     Really, this project came about because I saw this fabric and absolutely fell in love with it. You guys know that grey is my favourite colour, right? Well, how pretty is this cotton fabric? I don’t know how you could say no to it and with the orange in the pattern and on the inside fabric, it reminds me of autumn.

     To make this project, I just spent a lot of time watching various YouTube videos so there isn’t really one in particular that I can point you to.

     I had to learn a lot of new things to make this though. I had to figure out how to make a lined bag and how to add a zip! The zip scared me a bit but it worked out. I also learned how to kinda square out the bottom of a bag to give it more structure – not that the bag has much structure because it is just made from cotton so it’s very floppy!

     There’s a lot of things that didn’t go wonderfully. For example, I almost didn’t have enough fabric to make the handles! I had to sew smaller pieces together to make long enough strips and attaching the handles did not go neatly. Also, I have no idea what happened with the zip end…it does look a mess but at least it works.

     So that’s my sewing project. I gave this bag to my mom so I’ll have to make another one for myself. Hopefully I’ll be able to improve on the zip and handle areas!

14 thoughts on “Sewing an Autumnal Tote Bag

  1. Absolutely love the fabric and sympathise with the scary learning curve… my sewing machine only ever gets used to make hammocks and bits for my ratties, so I don’t have to deal with things like zips 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Facing something new is always a little bit scary but it is quite satisfying when you accomplish it – still not 100% with zippers though, guess I’ll just have to practice a lot more! 🙂

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

