Crafts · Paper Crafts

Congrats Grad Card

     Hey everyone, how’s it going? Hope you’re all doing well.

     I have another simple card to show you today. This is one that I made back in October as a request from my twin. Her boyfriend was graduating so she needed a congratulations card to give him, however, she didn’t want a typical boring one you could get in a shop filled with positive thoughts, she wanted a funny one. She looked around for a bit and found some on Etsy that she liked but they were way to expensive to post. I mentioned to her that I could make whatever sentiment she wanted so she jumped at that and had some fun figuring out the message she wanted, which was ‘enjoy the moment before the crushing reality of adult life sets in’.

     The entire design was up to me so I decided to break the sentiment in two so that the card front had your typical congratulations feel with ‘enjoy the moment’ while the humour was hidden away inside.

     I used an alphabet stamp set for the words ‘enjoy’ and ‘moment’ and selectively stamped ‘this’ from another stamp as I wanted it to be small. I also stamped some banners to fill in the space on the brown paper I used. I used the triangular pattern paper with gold foil triangles as I felt it could look like banners. For the ‘hooray’ part, I covered some kraft card in gold embossing powder, heat set that and then used my alphabet die set to cut out the letters. I wanted them to pop out a bit more so I die-cut several of each letter and stacked them on top of each other to make a more dimensional sentiment.

     And for the inside…

     I used my embossing pen to write out the sentiment (hence the inconsistencies) and heat embossed with black, bordering the kraft card with some more of that black and gold paper from the front.

     And that’s the card I made, which I think went down well. I don’t use my embossing pen all that much but I really should use it more as it’s quite fun making my own sentiments rather than trying to find loads of different stamp sets to serve my purpose, even if the stamp sets might be neater. What do you think of the card? Do you enjoy creating your own sentiments for cards or sticking to the stamp sets?

14 thoughts on “Congrats Grad Card

  1. I haven’t tried the embossing mediums yet Emma. They look fun, though.
    I’m trying to be good and eliminate some of the clutter in my studio before I take on any new techniques, and the score of supplies involved.
    I love the raised letters and embossing on this card.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Embossing is fun and definitely helps make a sentiment stand out.
      I do have a problem with just wanting to try out so many different techniques though that require loads of different tools, I should probably try be good like you and deal with my own clutter 😀

      Like

  2. I love the idea of heat embossing a handwritten sentiment. I normally stick to stamped sentiments, though I have been known to break out the alphabet stamps occasionally. I overthink words too much – much simpler to just put “congratulations” or “happy birthday” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True, sometimes just a lot easier to stick with the good ol’ standard stamp sentiments! I overthink words too much too…also spelling words, I always misspell words so stamp sentiments are easier 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.