Shopping

Wool and the Gang Crochet Kits

     Hello everyone! How’s it going? Hope you’re doing well.

     So recently I’ve not had a whole lot of crochet mojo going on. I’ve been reading a lot…and playing a lot of video games…but just not really knitting or crocheting much…so to fix that I decided to spend lots of money on yarn stuff!

     That’s the solution to craft slumps, isn’t it?

     Honestly though, this came about about because my mum mentioned a hat that I had made a while back using a raffia yarn which was my attempt at making something similar to the Wool and the Gang hat that I had seen someone make and seeing as I was having trouble motivating myself, I decided that I should just treat myself to that kit. I find that when my motivation is low, a kit that comes with everything you need and tells you what to make can be really helpful to just ease me back into the craft.

     I do see Wool and the Gang yarns advertised a bit and they’re kind of expensive but I did want to try out something from them and in the end I bought two kits from them, both using their Ra-Ra Raffia yarn.

     So yes, I bought the hat kit with the yarn colour that I wanted  originally! And also I bought this sandal kit that seemed interesting.

     Again, they’re not the cheapest kits to get but I think these would make some nice presents. I definitely had a lot of fun getting my package in the post and opening it up! I really liked how it was packaged and how everything seems recyclable. Also, it’s the small touches that really make it – like the pattern booklet, darning needle and handmade tag coming in this very nice quality black envelope. For the shoe kit the thread came in a little paper bag and then of course there’s the yarn itself and for this kit, the shoe soles. 

     The hat kit is much more simple but again, very well packaged and presented with all the information about what’s in the kit on the outside (and just to say, you did have the option of adding a crochet hook into the kit for an extra cost but I opted not to get that because I have tons already and am happy with the hooks I have).

     But yeah, I’m very happy with these kits at the unboxing level. Would recommend so far though obviously I’ve not made the stuff yet so we’ll have to see how that goes. Hopefully I’ll get the hat and shoes made before their season ends! Have you ever used a Wool and the Gang kit and if so, how was it?

8 thoughts on “Wool and the Gang Crochet Kits

  1. I remember for a good while I’d look at the Wool and the Gang website and it all looks so aesthetically pleasing 😍 I was worried that if I got something it would be for that reason alone and that I’d never use it but seeing this has just made me want to go back on there and treat myself!! Best of luck with those kits and hope you enjoy using them, the hat is so pretty! ✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wool and the Gang definitely know how to do aesthetically pleasing kits! They know how to make things look good but the quality of the stuff feels good so I can’t imagine any stuff you’d get from them would go to waste. Recommend if you just need to treat yourself – which let’s face it, having survived 2020 and 2021 so far, we all need to treat ourselves.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My cousin loves WAG. I dunno if she’s bought their kits before, but she’s definitely bought their yarn — and one time invited me to buy some to share postage with her. I got some really chunky polar white/cream wool, and it was awesome to knit with. I made a hat that turned out wayyyy too big lol. I’ve been tempted but haven’t bought any since because of the price, but I do think it’s worth it? I’m using Drops Eskimo/Snow right now, which is very similar to the WAG wool I bought back then, and I remember the WAG being a much more pleasant experience; I keep having to pick bits of wool out of the Drops. o_O

    I hope you enjoy your kits and get your mojo back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Both the kits I got use the Ra-Ra Raffia yarn so I feel at some point I’ll have to try out some of their wool yarn seeing as that’s what they’re named after! It does look very nice. I did intend to get a wool kit but I guess the season just leaned me towards the summery kits.
      I’ve never used Drops yarn before – keep meaning to try it out sometime.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Some Drops is a great budget yarn. I love the Karisma, for instance (DK wool), though the 4ply version (Fabel) is really scratchy. Plenty of colour choices in most of their ranges. But yeah, the thicker wools seem to have a lot of straw-like fibres in them. I’ve found this before with other cheaper wools, though, too, so it must be something about the way they make it. It’s possible WAG yarn is the same and I just got lucky lol but I do recommend splurging if you get the chance. 😀

      I’ve never knit/crochet with raffia yarn before. Raffia itself seems like it would be far too fragile, but I imagine the yarn is blended with something stronger like cotton? What’s it like to play–I mean, uh, work–with?

      Liked by 1 person

    3. I think it’s just paper, don’t think it’s blended with anything, and for a paper yarn, their Raffia is actually quite sturdy. Don’t know how they treat it to make it that way but yeah, feels good to work with. I wouldn’t be constantly unravelling work with it but it can handle a little bit of reworking stitches. Bit tough on the hands though, not the easiest yarn to use. Definitely one you work with for small amount of time at a go.

      Liked by 1 person

    4. Good to know! I can’t say I’ve ever been tempted to try raffia yarn, but I do like to change things up and challenge myself (within reason lol) so at some point I’m likely to consider it and now I know what to expect. :3

      Liked by 1 person

    5. Yeah it’s definitely not an everyday yarn but great for specific projects – don’t know how the hat I’m making will be feel like to wear but it will certainly look the part!

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.